CMA Honors 17 Songwriters with CMA Triple Play Awards

CMA Honors 17 Songwriters with CMA Triple Play Awards

The Country Music Association honored 17 of Country Music’s top songwriters today during the CMA Triple Play Awards, an annual event recognizing songwriters who write three No. 1 hits in a 12-month period. The festive luncheon was held at Marathon Music Works in Nashville.

“I always look forward to this event because it gives us an opportunity to shine a much-deserved spotlight on our songwriter community – and I am in awe of what you do,” said Sarah Trahern, CMA Chief Executive Officer.

Troy Tomlinson, former CMA Chairman of the Board and President and CEO of Sony/ATV Music Nashville, emceed the awards event.

“Today we will honor 17 mad songwriters who are mad to write, mad to live with the rest of us and they have been madly successful this past year. I am sure they have not had time to yawn,” Tomlinson said, paraphrasing a quote from popular author Jack Kerouac.

Attending today’s luncheon were Rhett Akins, Zach Crowell, Tyler Hubbard, Brett James, Luke Laird, Hillary Lindsey, Josh Osborne, Ross Copperman, Chris DeStefano, Shane McAnally, and Ashley Gorley.

“Being on stage today with so many friends is a great feeling,” Gorley said. “We are all thankful for the CMA and the community of Nashville for respecting and recognizing us as songwriters, and awarding what we do behind the scenes. I’m thankful to be a part of the day.”

A highlight of the presentation was the awarding of the first ever Triple Triple Play Award to Gorley, who had nine No. 1 songs during a 12-month period.

More than 200 hit tunesmiths from ASCAP, BMI, and SESAC, as well as songwriter members of CMA and representatives of some of the most successful publishers in Music City, attended the event.